Maureen Duke Educational Award

Society of Bookbinders > Education > Maureen Duke Educational Award

The annual Maureen Duke Educational Award was set up in conjunction with the Norie Trust, a small charitable trust based in the South West of England to recognize the late Maureen Duke’s inspirational teaching and dedication to education.

It offers a grant of £2,000 to a professional in the bookfield to further their skills and education.

Applications are invited for the 2023 Award.

The Norie Trust is a small charitable trust based in the South West of England. The Trust funds various projects, many of which are associated with literature and the arts. The Trust also assists community-based projects which aim to improve the quality of people’s lives.

The Trust has again very generously offered the Society funds of £2,000.00 a year from 2023 – 2027 to fund an educational award to assist professionals in the book field.

The Trust wished to recognise the late Maureen Duke’s inspirational teaching and dedication to education and thus the award is known as The Maureen Duke Educational Award.

The recipient of the award each year should be a bookbinder, book conservator, book restorer or book artist who is working professionally in the U.K. They should be intending to continue to work professionally, preferably in the U.K. and have an ambition to teach and pass on their skills.

The Society of Bookbinders administers the award on behalf of the Trust and the award panel consists of the (Chair of the Society, Chair of Outreach & Education and Sara Tupper)

The applicant will be required to email the following to

  • CV
  • A brief outline of the nature of study wishing to be undertaken, indicating how this will enhance their work, together with their plans for the future
  • Full Breakdown of costs – fees, travel and subsistence
  • Images of work completed in the two years prior to application
  • Two references.

The recipient will be required to write an account of their study and experience gained for others in the field.

The closing date for applications will be Friday 14th July 2023 with an announcement at the AGM on the 31st August 2023.

The announcement will be posted on the Website, in the E Bulletin, and by notification to Regional Secretaries of SOB and the secretaries to Designer Bookbinders, The Society of Archivists, The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, and the Society of Scribes and Illuminators.